How it all Started
While browsing websites I found a Google Ad that pointed to thebacklinkbuilders.com. I usually don't click on ads, but this time I tried it, because it was looking very interesting. In fact, it looked like too good to be true.
Selling Links
Almost every webmaster wants links, so why not to get some? Still, it looks too good to be true. On the other hand, spending $19.95 for 5 links of PageRank 3 won't hurt me and using PayPal should be safe as one can open a dispute anytime when service is not delivered or if quality lacks.
10 Days After Purchase
Meanwhile I contacted the seller twice. The email address associated with thebacklinkbuilders.com is jrcarlstrom@gmail.com. I emailed that person and yesterday I contacted them via form available on their website. No response at all. So I visited a resolution centre at PayPal and opened a case. Since thebacklinkbuilders.com proved to be scam, I suppose that the money will be refunded soon.
Why do they Exist?
I suppose that this scam can exist because of people, just like it's with other scams. In my case I was expecting it to be a questionable service, and using PayPal is safe in my experience. Not only in terms of security, but mostly in terms of refunds if services/goods are not delivered. Perhaps most people don't care if their $10 or $20 fly away, so they don't bother to open a case. That's why such a scam can exist and earn money.
29 June 2010